Australian Geoscience Council Inc.

The Australian Geoscience Council (AGC) is the Peak Council of geoscientists in Australia. It represents eight major Australian geoscientific societies with a total membership of over 8000 individuals comprising industry, government and academic professionals in the fields of geology, geophysics, geochemistry, mineral and petroleum exploration, environmental geoscience, hydrogeology and geological hazards.

Our objective is to...

Provide expert apolitical advice to governments on matters involving the geosciences and their application;

Promote the development of scientifically sound policies for effective geoscience education and research; and

Provide the Australian public with a greater appreciation of the economic, environmental and cultural values of the geosciences

MEDIA RELEASE – Geoscientist and Teacher, Ms Suzy Urbaniak was WA’s nominee in the “Australian of the Year – Local Heroes” award category for Australia Day Honours.

Read More

34th IGC Travel Grant Scheme – 2019 Call for Applications Now Closed

Applications have closed for our 34th International Geological Congress Travel Grant Scheme for Early-Career Australian and New Zealand Geoscientists. This scheme provides funds to support travel by Australian and New Zealand geoscientists in the early stages of their careers. The application deadline was 16 December 2019. News regarding successful applications will be provided soon. Details on how to apply in the next round of applications and previous grants awarded can be found here. AN INITIATIVE OF THE AUSTRALIAN GEOSCIENCE COUNCIL AND THE AUSTRALIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

Read More

MEDIA RELEASE: Bipartisan support from the Coalition and Labor will help our resource sector dig deeper for Australia’s secure future


The Australian Geoscience Council (AGC) has strongly welcomed commitments from both the Coalition Government and Australian Labor Party to boost support for the exploration of ‘next generation’ hidden mineral deposits in Australia.

Read More

Australian Tertiary Geoscience Education Profile 2017 Released


AGC is pleased to publicly release the Australian Geoscience Tertiary Education Profile 2017. The report summarises data collected in a 15 year longitudinal study of Geoscience departments across Australia, including teaching loads, higher degree completions, staff numbers and other data.

Further information, including links to previous reports, can be found here.

Read More

Two new AGC National Geoscience Champions


On 17 October 2018, during the Australian Geoscience Council Convention in Adelaide, we announced two new National Geoscience Champions. Dr Marita Bradshaw and Emeritus Professor David Groves have joined Roy Woodall AO, our inaugural National Geoscience Champion, as leading Australian Geoscientists recognised for their major contributions to our science, craft and art, as evidenced by their technical, leadership, mentoring and collegial endeavours.

Read More
Copyright © 2020 The Australian Geoscience Council. All Rights Reserved. Website developed by MRGraphics. Sitemap | Admin